Parliament has now been dissolved until the General Election. Therefore there are currently no Members of Parliament.
Incoming emails to may be received and read, however this email address is only being used to respond to urgent constituency casework.
Alyn Smith can be contacted at: or via

Stirling MP Backs Re-Opened Community Council Nominations


Categories: Constituency, Governance, Volunteering

Fresh Deadlines for Vital Democratic Bodies

Local Stirling MP Alyn Smith has urged residents across the Stirling area to reconsider putting themselves forward for election to community councils, after only 22 of Stirling’s 42 Community Council’s formed after recent elections.

Wednesday 19th April was the previous deadline for necessary nomination paperwork to have been submitted by – but Stirling Council officials have re-opened the process after a disappointing uptake.The new deadline for the submission of nomination papers is Wednesday 7th June, by 4pm.

Community Councils are the most local sphere of governance in Scotland, comprising small areas within the wider Stirling Council wards. The bodies play a crucial role in local democracy, and are involved in important processes such as licensing and planning applications.

Stirling MP Alyn Smith said:

‘Community Councils channel the voice of a neighbourhood, town or village, and are absolutely essential for local representation and democracy. The pandemic put a real strain on volunteer capacity across Scotland, and Community Councils are no exception. I really would urge local residents to consider standing for office. Your talents, skills and expertise when it comes to what’s best for your local area are vital.’

‘Community Councils also play an important statutory role in terms of applying for funding and having input on planning and licensing decisions. For so many of Stirling’s communities to be left without representation at the most local sphere is deeply concerning for the health of our local democracies.

‘I’d encourage anyone interesting in getting involved in their community to visit the Stirling Council website to find out more, or contact:’


Most residents who are at least 16, live within the community they want to represent and are registered on the electoral roll can stand for election in the following areas:  

  • Port of Menteith
  • Bannockburn
  • Balquhidder, Lochearnhead and Strathyre
  • Bridge of Allan
  • Buchanan
  • Cambusbarron
  • Cambuskenneth
  • Carron Valley & District
  • Drymen
  • Hillpark & Milton
  • Kilmadock
  • Kippen
  • Logie
  • Mercat Cross & City Centre
  • Polmaise
  • Raploch
  • Strathard
  • Strathfillan
  • Thornhill & Blair Drummond
  • Trossachs